My studio used to be a corner consisting of a box of art supplies on the floor and a travel bag of the same on top of it. When I wanted to make art, I would take a masonite drawing board and the bag and go into the living room where there was a bit more space to spread out. Needless to say this was not comfortable or practical, and more to the point, it did not give proper respect to an activity that is important to me and which consumes a lot of my free time.

I am working through the Artist’s Way again, and one of the recent tasks was to set a small goal for yourself and then do it. A big goal of mine is to someday have a separate room serves as a studio; however, where I live now will not accommodate this goal, so I set the small goal to consolidate my art supplies and create a studio that was more than a corner and certainly not on the floor. Therefore, my artist’s date yesterday was to drive down to IKEA and look at small tables. Quite synchronicitously, IKEA had this little table top for less than $20. I got it, assembled it and spent the evening setting up my new space. I can now work on my digital art on the computer and then swing around to work on the non-digital creations. My art and writing books are within arm reach.

I am stoked. 🙂

You can see my “old” studio underneath the table: the box and the bag.

